Olay Body Wash Plus Body Butter Ribbons

ImageWhere I Got It: Walgreens

Paid: $2.50 (regular price $4.59)

So I made a Walgreens run last night to peruse sale items and see what I could pick up to try — what can I say? I’m addicted to giving new stuff a try! Well, really, the reason I went to Walgreens was because I needed a new wide tooth comb (too many broken tines from traveling with my old one), but anyway, I saw this bad boy on Closeout. Now, I know I have also seen it in CVS and Food Lion and maybe even Kroger, so the fact that it happened to be on Closeout at this one Walgreens did not deter me.

I got in the shower and tried it out last night. It is very thick, so you don’t have the issue of a bunch running out all at once (a slight issue I have with my beloved St. Ives Triple Butter). The smell was fresh and not too cloying, and the body wash went on like a lotion at first, which is good since it is supposed to be super moisturizing. At first, I was worried: “Is this going to lather up nicely?” But then it did, and when I got out of the shower, I felt both clean AND like I had already put on some good, rich lotion. Ladies, my skin felt good! It STILL feels way good many hours later. I love, love, love that!

Now, here is the rub: it’s not good for shaving. It says on the container to try it when shaving. Nuh-uh. Don’t bother. It gunks up your razor pretty badly and makes the whole shaving process even more odious than it would be normally. This “problem” with the product doesn’t bother me though because I’m perfectly happy being a two-product gal, and I often use a separate shaving cream/gel/wash. In fact, I’m trying out a new one I’ll be posting about soon!

Definitely a good product. Did it dethrone St. Ives Triple Butter, my beloved, cheap moisturizing body wash? I do like the smell of St. Ives better, but I like the extreme hydration of this Olay product. So here’s my opinion: If there is no sale, pay for St. Ives. It costs less flat rate and is excellent. If there is a sale, though, and you can pay equal or less for this Olay product than you would for the St. Ives, go Olay.

Ta-ta ’til next time!

2 comments
  1. Naomi said:

    This sounds great πŸ™‚

    • It’s good stuff. Seriously. Try it. I had a positive post today and then a ranty-negative post too. Haha. So I’d rather dwell on this one. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

